Chamber announces Teachers of Distinction for Golden Apple event


26th Annual Golden Apple Awards


Green Bay, Wis. - (Jan. 28, 2019) - The Partners in Education program of the Greater Green Bay Chamber is pleased to congratulate the individuals and teams of educators selected as Teachers of Distinction in the first round of the 2019 Golden Apple Awards selection process. These outstanding teachers make a big impact on students, parents and the community, and will be celebrated at the Golden Apple event in April.

This year’s esteemed Teachers of Distinction include:

Taylor Baltus: St. Bernard Catholic School
Michelle Baumann: Kewaunee School District
Tracy Cantu: St. Thomas More Catholic School
Teri Deavers: Bay View Middle School
Francisco J. Espinosa: Franklin Middle School
Marisol Evans: Washington Middle School
Andrea Fergus: Lincoln Elementary School
Carla Foote: Cormier School & Early Learning Center
Jeffrey Gosse: Pulaski High School
Kerri Haertl: Hillcrest Elementary School
Linda Hart: Green Bay Early Learning Center
Kelly Hohman: Chappell Elementary School
Julie Hubbard: Wrightstown High School
Wendy Jacobs: Luxemburg-Casco High School
Spencer Karls: Lannoye Elementary School & Pulaski High School
Trina V. Kerscher: MacArthur Elementary School
Ann Klapatch: Annie Jackson Elementary School
Rhonda Knoespel: Lombardi Middle School
Frau Melanie Lasee: Ashwaubenon High School
Mallory Lichon: Pulaski High School
Sarah Lisowe: Hemlock Creek Elementary School
Jessica Loritz: Bay Harbor Elementary School
Victor Murphy: Suamico Elementary School
Lindsey Przybylski: Pulaski Community Middle School
Megan Jo Raschke: Hemlock Creek Elementary School
Jenny Stehlik: Pulaski Community Middle School
Jeanne Stilp: Langlade Elementary School
Lydia Storby: Sunnyside Elementary School
Jodi Sullivan: Holy Cross Catholic School
Blair Swiekatowski: Red Smith (K-8) School
Mary B. Swinford: Bay View Middle School
Emily Tewes: Glenbrook Elementary School
Holly Thomas: Anne Sullivan Elementary School
Stephanie Van Zeeland: Wrightstown Elementary School
Jessica VanLaanen: Westwood Elementary School
Emily Vissers: Fairview Elementary School
Julie Will: Luxemburg-Casco Intermediate School
Karen Wilson: Baird Elementary School
Roxanne Zellner: St. Mary’s School—Luxemburg

Teams of teachers include:

Edison Middle School: AVID Elective Team
Carmen Lax and Elizabeth Mosupye

Forest Glen Elementary School: Kindergarten Team
Rose Sundin, Chelsea Levash, April Branstrom, Katerina Schmidt and Angela Hendrickson

Lineville Intermediate School: Band Team
Andrew Zipperer and Sue Zipperer

Valley View Elementary School: Literacy Team
Ann Brennenstuhl, Deb Patterson, Stacie Schabow and Sheryl Stathas

West De Pere High School: Special Education Team
Alyssa Racine, Krista Herman, Carissa Nusbaum, Joleen Bratz, Laura Lenss, Chad Federman and Jeffrey Hockers

West De Pere School District: Speech Team
Peggy Eserkaln, Mark Farnsworth, Lisa Lokken and Candace Van Veghel

Each year, the Golden Apple Awards program improves community awareness of the quality of education in the Greater Green Bay area by recognizing high standards of professionalism, leadership and innovation in teaching with the Golden Apple Awards. The Golden Apple Awards’ multi-level screening process involves reviewing applications and hosting personal interviews to narrow the pool of applicants to 45 Teachers of Distinction. Selection criteria are based on the National Board of Professional Teaching standards, which identify the essential knowledge, skills and dispositions expected of experienced, quality teachers. The final eight Golden Apple Award recipients are selected from the Teachers of Distinction honorees.

Thank you to our Golden Apple major sponsors: Associated Bank, WLUK FOX 11, Green Bay Packaging, Green Bay Press-Gazette, Humana, Imperial, M3 Insurance, Schneider Foundation and Shopko Foundation. Thank you to the multitude of community volunteers who helped kick off the Golden Apple process and evaluated applications. The assistance of our major sponsors and volunteers help make the program successful.

26th Annual Golden Apple Awards sponsors

Help us recognize the Teachers of Distinction and soon-to-be-announced Golden Apple recipients by attending the Golden Apple Awards event on Wednesday, April 17, 2019, at Radisson Hotel and Conference Center. Register to attend at

View the ad: 2019 Teachers of Distinction (PDF)

Contact: Sue Zittlow, vice president of workforce and leadership development, 920.593.3412,